Landscape Photographer from the South West of Western Australia

Full moon rising over the BSN Jetty

With the help of a program called TPE (free on a Windows computer) I was able to position myself to take this shot last night. I was 4km from the jetty looking across the bay. I went down to the beach, set up my camera pointing at this scene and waited in the darkness. People walking along the beach wondered what I was doing (until after the moon rose!).

The reason the moon appears so large is that I was so far away from the jetty and the jetty appears small. The moon doesn’t change in size so it appears large in comparison. Last night was the only night for quite a while the moon will rise at a position where I could take this shot – from now on it will rise too far south and appear over the land.
Full Moon at Busselton

Leave a Reply

