Landscape Photographer from the South West of Western Australia

Surfers at Moses Rock

I have been trying to get a shot of dolphins surfing for a while. This morning I got lucky. I was at Moses Rock, and there had been dolphins earlier. They were feeding offshore and a school went past. Then a pair of dolphins decided to go for a surf. They picked the same wave as a surfer was about to catch – he got quite a fright initially! I am sure they deliberately picked that wave – perhaps to show him how it was done.

Surfing Dolphins

Surfing dolphins


Synchronised surfing

Synchronised surfing

9 responses

  1. stunning capture Ian
    I would love to photograph dolphins surfing, such an amazing visual

    December 12, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    • Thanks Adrian. Give me a call if you are coming down this way and I will see if I can find some more.

      December 13, 2011 at 5:17 am

  2. Love it when the fin that pops out of the water turns out to be a fellow surfer. Nice shots, incredibly lucky to have a camera ready to go.

    December 13, 2011 at 12:15 am

    • No luck involved at all Amy – I have been trying for that shot for a while. I went to Moses Rock because I had heard there were dolphins there.

      I think Luke (the surfer) was relieved it was a dolphin, and he was pretty happy about sharing that wave! Thanks for the comments.

      Ian

      December 13, 2011 at 5:15 am

  3. Great Shot!

    December 14, 2011 at 7:38 am

  4. Great shots Ian, I just lov dolphins. Must come down one weekend you seem to know all the good spots.

    December 14, 2011 at 10:19 pm

    • I would love to show you around – can’t guarantee to find surfing dolphins – but I am getting better at finding them.

      December 14, 2011 at 11:12 pm

  5. My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different
    website and thought I might as well check things out.

    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to finding out about your web page again.

    April 29, 2013 at 10:46 am

Leave a Reply

