Landscape Photographer from the South West of Western Australia

Osprey mother and child

I went down to Kilcarnup again today to get a shot of the Osprey chick in the nest before it grew up and left. They grow very quickly and in a few weeks they are nearly full size. Last time I was there the chick was only just tall enough to peek above the rim of the nest, but today it had grown a lot. It was still happy to hide behind mum when I appeared and I had to wait to get the shot.

Osprey chick

Osprey chick


When I have been there previously I noticed mum seems to get “cabin fever” about every hour and takes off for a quick flight. This time she was checking me out and with the strong sea breeze was able to hover directly above me – a bit scary because Osprey’s have formidable beaks and claws. I was lying on my back to get this shot – partly because I wanted to keep an eye on her! The nest is on a small limestone outcrop which is a small island, so they feel pretty sure that I can’t get to the nest. I am sure she just wanted to stretch her wings and to give me the message that I was to stay away.
Osprey mother

Osprey mother

2 responses

  1. She’s watching you Dad!!!!! I remember when you took us there last year! You should pop up a photo showing the island with their nest to show how isolated the nest is 🙂 Great photo! Love the bub

    October 21, 2011 at 7:31 pm

    • She didn’t take her eyes off me the whole time I was there. I was a bit worried when she hovered over the top of me, but I think she was just getting a message across. The baby kept hiding behind mum and I had to wait until she came out to get this shot. Bub will leave soon – wingspan is now about 1.5 metres!

      October 21, 2011 at 7:36 pm

Leave a Reply

