Landscape Photographer from the South West of Western Australia

Milky Way over Canal Rocks

I have been intending to try this for quite a while, but there always seemed to be something stopping me – moon too bright, too much cloud, bed too warm! Last night all the planets were in line, and I had run out of excuses. The battery on my torch died just as I was finishing – fortunately I had a LED light on my cap to see my way back to the car!

Milky Way over Canal Rocks

Milky Way over Canal Rocks

Update: This image won a silver award in the recent International Loupe Awards with a score of 85 and was placed 33rd in the Amateur Landscape Category.

Silver award

Silver award

4 responses

  1. Love this image Ian

    October 11, 2011 at 10:32 am

  2. Thanks Peta.

    I did approve your earlier comment, but there seem to be two places you can leave comments on a post in WordPress. One is by clicking on “leave a comment”, the other is by clicking on the image. That’s why it doesn’t show up here in case you were wondering.

    I like the image too, and I am going to try again at other places next time the moon disappears.

    Ian

    October 11, 2011 at 10:44 am

    • I thought I had made a comment but I did it on the ipad and I dont think that always works. Also your light painting looks very cool, the kids must have had a ball.

      October 11, 2011 at 10:53 am

      • The kids enjoyed it. The youngest is six and she understood the twirling ropes best. The older one (10) caught on to the “painting” by moving the bracelets slowly and got quite enthusiastic. But some of the best were accidental rather than planned! Its certainly something to occupy them during the holidays.

        October 11, 2011 at 11:39 am

Leave a Reply

