Landscape Photographer from the South West of Western Australia

More Willyabrup

Here is a couple more from Sunday’s shoot. Thanks Mark for the loan of your camera! – I needed something for the foreground. I did ask Mark that if he was to take another step backward not to grab his tripod as I would find it useful!

Mark's toys

Mark's toys



We were hoping the sunset would do the right thing for the clouds to the south, but it refused to cooperate and all the best clouds were to the north!
Looking North

Looking North


This next shot was taken a bit earlier. We were hoping to get the late afternoon sun on the cliff, but the sun hid behind some low cloud most of the afternoon.
Looking South earlier in the afternoon

Looking South earlier in the afternoon

4 responses

  1. You are smashing them out Ian! I will look at mine tonight!

    June 7, 2011 at 9:19 am

  2. I am keen to see yours – you haven’t posted for a while. I rate mine from Sunday as good “travel” photos, showing off the landscape but that’s all (the criteria is whether someone would hang them in their lounge room!). I think the money shots on the day would be those vertical stitches of yours with the silky water movement. I was avoiding ND filters as much as I could as I have been having issues with image sharpness. My 24-70 2.8 Nikon lens is highly regarded, but the results weren’t showing this. I think it is caused by the ND filter, and the last two times I have been out I have been shooting without the filters. The images without the filters have been very sharp so I need to do some thinking. Without ND filters those slow shutter speeds are not possible.

    June 7, 2011 at 10:11 am

  3. You have been very busy Ian, some very nice images. I think a return visit to the sawamill would be great, looks very interesting.

    June 8, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    • Thank you Peta.

      I got permission to shoot at the sawmill today – including at dusk or after dark. I went back this evening, so watch for another post from the sawmill tomorrow!

      Ian

      June 8, 2011 at 6:53 pm

Leave a Reply

