Landscape Photographer from the South West of Western Australia

More Wills Domain activity

I have had an idea to do a series of  long exposures in a vineyard whilst the harvester was operating, and this morning I got the chance to try it. The concept was to have the harvester lights trace a series of lines.

However the harvester started at 6:00am and it quickly got too light for me to continue. At least I got enough to show the idea would work. There was a nice sunrise as well, and I probably would have been better off concentrating on that, but I couldn’t move the camera!

This morning was more in the way of an experiment, and to try out different techniques. Here is the result from this morning. The continuous lines are the harvester. The dashes come from the tractor and trailer accompanying the harvester. Being lower it is partially obscured by the canopy of the vines, and the light only shows in the gaps between the branches.

UPDATE: I managed to extract the light trails from most of my shots, and this is the updated result.

UPDATE 2. Conclusions. The technique is workable, but probably not worth the effort. The time spent would be better spent concentrating on producing a good image, and in the dark that is probably difficult.  It wont turn a poor photo into a good one, but probably offers something a bit out of the ordinary.

Wills Domain light trails

Wills Domain light trails

2 responses

  1. Good idea Ian.

    With the moon at the moment you could go down there later at night and get it , they probably start in the evening and work till 11pm or 12pm there abouts

    March 22, 2011 at 5:37 pm

  2. I wouldn’t get the light trails that way.

    I did take the extra shots, but it would be a lot of work to edit out everything except the light trails (which are still visible in the extra shots). I am working on the processing and will update the post if I get anything better to show.

    The owner is very helpful, but most of the vineyard has already been harvested. I could go there anytime day or night, but I like taking moonlight shots of Canal Rocks instead.

    UPDATE – sorry Merv I missed the last part of your comment. This is almost the last block and what is left is not suitable for various reasons. Also they seem to time their harvesting to finish at daylight – sometimes starting at 2:00am.

    Regards
    Ian

    March 22, 2011 at 10:18 pm

Leave a Reply

